The Safety and Security Sectoral Bargaining Council (SSSBC) was established in terms of Resolution 12/98 of the PSCBC. The SSSBC is a result of the amalgamation of the National Negotiating Forum (NNF) and the Department of Safety and Security Departmental Bargaining Council.


The state as employer and its employees employed in the South African Police Service in terms of:

Powers and Functions


To strive towards the continual maintenance and promotion of labour peace in the sector by implementing the ideals of the Constitution and Labour Relations Act.


To provide accessible, expeditious and credible dispute prevention and resolution services, as well as to achieve and maintain excellence in all services provided by the Council.

Department of Labour Registration Number


Admission Threshold

Thirty Thousand (30 000)

Parties to Council

South African Police Services (SAPS)
South African Police Union (SAPU)
Police & Prisons Civil Rights Union (POPCRU)